Home > Announcement Board
Establishment of the New National Steering Committee for Nanotechnology

Recently, MOST established the new National Steering Committee for Nanotechnology jointly with relevant ministries and commissions. The new Committee composed of representatives from MOST, National Development and Reform Commission, Ministry of Education, Commission of Science Technology and Industry for National Defense, Ministry of Finance, General Equipment Department of PLA, General Administration for Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Chinese Academy of Engineering and National Natural Science Foundation of China as well as relevant expert panel. Minister WAN Gang is the Director and Vice Minister CHENG Jinpei the Executive Deputy Director of the Committee, Academician BAI Chunli is the Chief Scientist and Head of the Expert Panel. Deputy Heads of the expert panel include Vice Minister CAO Jianlin of Science and Technology, ZHU Daoben, Deputy Director of the National Natural Science Foundation and QI Chengyuan, Deputy Director-General of Hi-tech Industry in the National Development and Reform Commission.

The new committee will continue to guide and coordinate the development of nanoscience and nanotechnology in China, execute the deployment of the major research plans of nano research stated in the Outline of the National Medium and Long-term S&T Development Plan and promote leapfrog development of nanoscience and nanotechnology in China.