Home > Announcement Board
Vice Minister Huang Meets with Helmholtz Association Vice President

Vice Minister Huang Wei of the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) met with a visiting German delegation headed by Professor Helmut Dosch, Vice President of Helmholtz Association and Chairman of the Board of Directors, German Electron Synchrotron (DESY).

Vice Minister Huang briefed the German side on China’s current implementation of an innovation-driven development strategy, and the 13th Five-Year Plan on science, technology and innovation (STI) in China, saying that efforts will be made to strengthen China-Germany and China-Europe cooperation in STI within the framework of the Belt & Road Initiative to establish a community of shared innovation. As for China-Germany cooperation in megascience, Huang noted that Germany is a world leader well-experienced in megascience research and that the Chinese side has always been active in strengthening bilateral cooperation in megascience for there is huge scope for further cooperation.

Professor Dosch said that on his current trip to China, he had in-depth discussions with Chinese scientists on strengthening basic research and megascience cooperation. He appreciated China‘s current progress and future plans and expressed willingness to further strengthen collaboration in innovation with the Chinese side in these fields. The two sides agreed on continuing active communication and exchanges in free electron laser devices and other topics of megascience.

Also present at the meeting were MOST officials such as Ye Dongbai, Director General of the Department of International Cooperation; Wu Xueti, Deputy Director General of the Department of Resource Allocation and Management and Cui Tuo, DDG of Basic Research. The meeting was also attended by Cai Dianwen, DDG of the International Cooperation Bureau of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Lai Xinchun, Vice President of the China Academy of Engineering Physics, and Zhao Zhentang, Director of Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics under the Chinese Academy of Sciences.