Home > Announcement Board
China and Tajikistan Sign MOU on Establishment of S&T Cooperation Committee

On August 31, 2017, under the joint witness of Chinese President Xi Jinping and Tajikistani President Emomali Rahmon, Huang Wei, Vice Minister of Science and Technology of China and Farhod Rahimi, President of the Academy of Sciences of Tajikistan signed the Memorandum of Understanding between MOST China and the Academy of Sciences of Tajikistan in Beijing on the Establishment of China-Tajikistan Committee on Science and Technology Cooperation.

The signing of the MOU is aimed at implementing the Agreement on Scientific and Technical Cooperation between the Government of the Peopleā€˜s Republic of China and the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan signed in 1993 by establishing and improving the permanent mechanism for bilateral scientific and technological cooperation. According to the MOU, both sides will set up China-Tajikistan Committee on Science and Technology Cooperation, the main task of which is to set the main direction, priority areas and forms of China-Tajikistan S&T cooperation program, and promote various forms of S&T exchanges and cooperation between research institutes, universities and enterprises of both countries.

At the invitation of President Xi Jinping, President Emomali Rahmon paid a state visit to China from August 30 to September 5, 2017, and attended the Dialogue of Emerging Market and Developing Countries held in Xiamen. On August 31, the two heads of state held a bilateral meeting and agreed to establish a comprehensive strategic partnership between China and Tajikistan to promote greater progress of bilateral relations at the new historical starting point.