Home > Announcement Board
Minister Wang Zhigang Meets with European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

(Photo by Liu Daming/MOSTIC)

On September 17, 2018, Minister Wang Zhigang of the Ministry of Science and Technology met with an EU delegation led by European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation Carlos Moedas. The two sides held in-depth exchanges on the current situation of STI development in China and the EU and future directions of bilateral cooperation.
Minister Wang Zhigang briefed Commissioner Carlos Moedas and his delegation on China’s plans in the field of STI since the 19th CPC Congress and the Ministry of Science and Technology’s overall plans for basic research, technological innovation and application industrialization. Minister Wang Zhigang affirmed the achievements of China-EU cooperation in STI and said that the Chinese side is willing to work with the European side to implement the consensus reached at the 20th China-EU Summit, deepen opening-up and cooperation and enrich the content of STI in the China-EU comprehensive strategic partnership. In the future, Minister Wang Zhigang proposed that in relation to their respective strategies, China and the European Union should jointly develop a roadmap for China-EU cooperation in research and innovation, make good use of the existing mechanisms and implement cooperation in flagship projects. 
Commissioner Carlos Moedas thanked Minister Wang Zhigang for his reception and remarked that strengthening STI and supporting economic and social development is a consensus of China and the European Union. He said that the European Union is willing to continue to push forward bilateral cooperation. Commissioner Carlos Moedas briefed the Chinese host on the main content of the European Union’s new round of framework plan Horizon Europe, and agreed that the two sides should strengthen strategic matching and expand new areas of cooperation. The two sides also communicated on deepening mutually beneficial and open cooperation.
Present at the meeting were Ye Dongbai, Director General of the Department of International Cooperation of the Ministry of Science and Technology, Xu Jing, Director General of the Department of Innovation and Development and Ye Yujiang, Director General of the Department of Basic Research, Chen Jiachang, Director General of China Science and Technology Exchange Center, Ann Mettler, Head of the European Political Strategy Center, and Chris Wood, Deputy Head of the European Union Delegation in China.