Home > Announcement Board
Minister Wang Zhigang Meets with South African Minister of Science and Technology Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane

On September 19, Minister Wang Zhigang of the Ministry of Science and Technology met in Tianjin with a South African delegation led by Minister of Science and Technology Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane, who came to China for the 2008 Summer Davos Forum. They exchanged views on deepening cooperation in science, technology and innovation (STI) between China and South Africa. 

Minister Wang Zhigang welcomed Minister Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane and her delegation. He said that the heads of state of China and South Africa placed STI in an important position in the bilateral relations and that the science and technology authorities of the two countries had taken active measures to deliver on the agreement between the heads of state and facilitated cooperation in the areas of mining, forestry and square kilometer array radio telescopes (SKA). Minister Wang Zhigang suggested the two sides formulate a sound top-level design for STI cooperation, focus on projects, platforms, parks, and people-to-people exchanges in science and technology. He welcomed South Africa’s active engagement in the construction of the China-Africa Center for Innovation Cooperation. Minister Wang Zhigang expressed his willingness to work with Minister Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane to promote China-South Africa STI cooperation and make it a model of China-Africa cooperation and a model of state-to-state cooperation across the world.

Minister Mmamoloko Kubayi-Nguban pointed out that the importance attached by the leaders of China and South Africa to China-South Africa STI cooperation has greatly promoted the progress of pragmatic cooperation and the two sides should implement the cooperation agreement signed and ensure that the cooperation projects produce practical results. She said that South Africa looks forward to working with China in more fields and making its due contributions.

Director General Ye Dongbai of the Department of International Cooperation and Director General Xu Jing of the Department of Innovation and Development of the Ministry of Science and Technology, President Hu Zhijian of the Chinese Academy of Science and Technology for Development, and Director General Dai Yongkang of the Tianjin Municipal Commission on Science and Technology Commission were present at the meeting.