Home > Announcement Board
Second BRICS WG-STIEP Meeting Held in Kunming

On September 10, 2018, the Second meeting of the BRICS Working Group on Science, Technology, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Partnership (BRICS WG-STIEP) was held in Kunming. Official representatives and experts from the competent departments of science, technology and innovation of the BRICS countries attended the meeting. Deputy Director General Chen Linhao of the Department of International Cooperation of the Ministry of Science and Technology chaired and addressed the meeting. During the meeting, a series of supporting events were also held, including the BRICS Technology Transfer and Innovation Cooperation Forum and the BRICS Technology Transfer Project Roadshow and Connectivity.

BRICS STIEP was put forward in 2016 and officially established in 2017, with the first working group meeting held in India. The Kunming meeting was aimed at delivering on the BRICS Action Plan for Innovation Cooperation and the Durban Declaration, the outcome document of the Sixth BRICS Science, Technology and Innovation Ministerial Meeting held in South Africa in July this year. The participants had discussion on working group mechanism, BRICS technology transfer center, science parks, technology business incubators, micro, small and medium-sized enterprises network and BRICS talent pool. 

After the meeting, the BRICS Technology Transfer Center was unveiled by representatives of the five countries. In the future, under the guidance of the BRICS WG-STIEP, the Centre will devote itself to promoting technology transfer and innovation cooperation among BRICS countries in a pragmatic manner and achieving wide and orderly transfer and transformation of innovation achievements among the BRICS countries.  
【Background】The BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) is an important mechanism of cooperation among emerging developing countries. In recent years, cooperation among the BRICS countries has continuously deepened, forming a multi-field and multi-level cooperation mechanism led by leaders‘meetings and supplemented by high-level meetings of relevant departments in various fields. According to the action plan of the Sanya Declaration issued during the third BRICS Leaders Meeting in 2011, the Ministry of Science and Technology of China hosted the first senior official meeting on BRICS cooperation in science, technology innovation in China. The First BRICS Ministerial Meeting on Science, Technology and Innovation was held in 2014. Six ministerial meetings have been held so far, and the Memorandum of Understanding on Intergovernmental Cooperation in Science, Technology and Innovation among the BRICS Countries has been signed, specifying mechanisms, modalities and key areas of cooperation. 

The BRICS Action Plan for Innovation Cooperation was signed during the BRICS Leaders Meeting in Xiamen in September 2017, witnessed by the heads of state of the five countries. To further implement this Plan, China put forward a proposal on“Establishing BRICS Technology Transfer Center”at the Sixth BRICS Ministerial Conference on Science, Technology and Innovation held in South Africa in July 2018, which was written into the Durban Declaration. The BRICS Technology Transfer Center will be jointly set up by the Department of International Cooperation of the Ministry of Science and Technology, in conjunction with Kunming City and the International Technology Transfer Collaboration Network (ITTN). A group of BRICS technology transfer agencies will be brought together to form an alliance and promote cooperation in technology transfer among the BRICS countries.