Home > Announcement Board
Vice Minister Huang Attends 2nd Arctic Science Ministerial

The Second Arctic Science Ministerial was held in Berlin, Germany, on October 26, 2018. At the invitation of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Vice Minister Huang Wei of the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology led a delegation to the meeting and made a speech. Seven scientists from Beijing Normal University, the Aerospace Information Research Institute of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, University of Science and Technology of China and Tsinghua University participated in the Arctic Science Forum held on October 25, 2018.
In his speech, Vice Minister Huang Wei introduced China‘s cooperation in Arctic research. He pointed out that China is an important participant and practitioner in Arctic affairs, regards exploring and understanding the Arctic as a priority direction and key area of Arctic activities, and actively encourages and promotes international cooperation in Arctic research. He put forward three suggestions, including further promoting cooperation and sharing in Arctic observations, further strengthening research on interplay between the Arctic and the global system, and paying more attention to the Arctic ecological environment and Arctic residents. In his speech, Vice Minister Huang Wei also stressed China’s willingness to work with Arctic and non-Arctic countries to deepen bilateral and multilateral cooperation and contribute to the sustainable development of the Arctic, which attracted great attention and praise from other participating countries.
Co-sponsored by Germany, Finland and the European Union, the 2nd Arctic Science Ministerial was attended by high-level delegations from 24 countries and regions including the eight Arctic countries (the United States, Russia, Canada, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Finland) and major Arctic research countries (the United Kingdom, Germany, France, China, Japan, South Korea, Spain and Poland etc.), as well as from six Arctic indigenous organizations. The meeting discussed the following three topics: strengthening, integrating and sustaining Arctic observations, facilitating access to Arctic data, and sharing Arctic research infrastructure; understanding the regional and global dynamics of Arctic change; and assessing the vulnerability and building resilience of Arctic environments and societies. After the meeting, the ministers signed a Joint Ministerial Statement, which further built and strengthened the political consensus and willingness of the various countries to enhance cooperation in Arctic research.
Chen Linhao, Deputy Director General of the Department of International Cooperation, Deng Xiaoming, Deputy Director General of the Department of Science and Technology for Social Development and other officials of the Ministry of Science and Technology attended the above activities.